The Civilian Newsletter
The Civilian Newsletter
Matt Gaetz, Eric Greitens...Please Stop
0:00
-51:19

Matt Gaetz, Eric Greitens...Please Stop

Why I am without at political party

I have been in complete and total conflict about what to talk about with you all over the past few months. I have worked very hard over these past few years to keep my own political feelings a “secret,” but that no longer serves. I think it’s time, more than ever, to talk more openly about why I’ve had no political home for the past 6 years.

After some absolutely shocking videos coming out of the Turning Point conference (a conservative youth conference started by Charlie Kirk), I’ve pulled back the curtain in a somewhat emotional and very nuanced conversation with Eric Bohl. Once again, we are in the messy middle. Listen above to hear:

  • where do Matt Gaetz and Eric Greitens fit into today’s GOP? Are they mainstream? Are they fringe?

  • how can we steer both parties back towards civility?

  • is a Trump endorsement still important for this year’s GOP candidates?

  • what direction Eric thinks is on the horizon

  • why The Middle needs to be the new loudest voice

  • and I give my suggestion for a primary voting strategy (spoiler alert: don’t play games, just vote for the person you would most like to see in office)

(You can toggle the playback speed in the box above, I usually listen to my podcasts at 1.5x)

After we recorded this conversation, I read David French’s fantastic column about the same sort of issues. I highly recommend reading, especially if you are from a Christian faith tradition as David is.

If you can stomach watching these videos from the Turning Point USA conference, I have linked them below.

As always, ALL are welcome here. No matter what political party you identify with, where you come from, or how much news you read.

Many humble thanks for listening/reading. See you soon!

Sarah

0 Comments
The Civilian Newsletter
The Civilian Newsletter
Come for an expert opinion? Well, you're in the wrong place. I'm just a civilian here, writing on topics ranging from civics & civility to being human. No matter the specific topic, the big umbrella here is treating each other well.